’m 6dp3dt today and I’m finally back at work. I wasn’t able to write much during the week at home, not because there wasn’t time; there was plenty I assure you. I just got too lazy and I think I actually become one with the bed or the couch… not very proud of it but I am soooooooooooo well rested and that was the plan all along right?

So let’s play catch up.  We had the transfer on a Tuesday. It was a day 3 transfer since this was the clinic’s policy. Keeping my bladder full for the procedure was a little tricky since my ovaries were still angry from the retrieval and I was still bloated. I’ve come to know from experience that to have a full bladder I would need to:

  1. Empty my bladder before I leave the house
  2. Start drinking water on the way. I need to drink 500ml of water 45 to 1 hour before the procedure.

And the result is… perfectly filled bladder!! I didn’t even have to relief myself until after the hour was through.

The transfer was easy; this is my third so everything felt familiar. We transferred 2 beautiful 8 cells embryo. I asked the embryologist about the grade of the embryos and it was a grade 2, they say they rarely give a grade 1. Like last cycle, we have 2 embryos frozen, 1 – 8 cells and the other one is 7 cells. The ones that are frozen are given a grade 1. I was quite taken aback why they decided to freeze the embryos with better grade, the embryologist explained that a good quality embryo will more likely survive the freezing and thawing process and she assured me that the ones that were transferred today were also good quality embryos. We had 3 more embryos that were a little slow and they were going to grow it to day 5 to see if they were good enough to freeze.  After day 5 one out of the 3 made it to blastocyst but sadly they decided not to freeze the embryo since it didn’t make the grade. I was quite sad to hear that they wouldn’t freeze our little fighter but I am comforted by the fact that at least one of my embryos made it to blast.

I find myself being calmer this cycle. I am comforted by the fact that the outcome of this journey is in Allah’s hand and not mine. Both hubby and I have done our best so there are no regrets…                                               

Hoping your cycle is going smooth and we’ll have our rainbow babies soon…

Love                      

N

