We had our egg retrieval yesterday. I checked into the ward at 7am feeling very sleepy. My sleep the night before wasn’t a good one. It was the nerves for sure. The nurse showed us to our room, a gorgeous hospital room I must say… we took some pictures and I got changed into my sexy surgical gown. They came in to get my vitals and ask the normal questions like when was my last meal, do I have any allergies… I watched a little TV while waiting.  My doctor came in for a quick visit to see how I was, and then the anaesthetics came to put my IV line in. She was a really nice lady. Made a lot of small talk to make me feel comfortable and ensure that I’ll be in good hands and not feel any pain. She told me I will not be on general anaesthetic but will be in sedation, I will be asleep but might wake up throughout the procedure, but will not feel any pain. I was a little scared of the fact that I might wake up during the procedure; I would rather be asleep throughout.

At 8am they wheeled me to the OT. The nurse from the clinic and dr H was there to say good luck which was really nice. Once I have the oxygen mask on and the antistatic was injected in my IV, I went right to sleep. I did wake up a few times throughout the procedure but felt only minimal pain and they will give me more drugs and I’ll drift back to sleep. Twice when I was awake I heard someone say “no eggs, no eggs” but I drift of back to sleep… At the end when I woke up I asked how many did we get and they say 9. So 9 is our magic number. I’m happy with it. I’m hoping they are all doing well. We will be doing a day-3 transfer… I didn’t feel any pain after the procedure, just sleepy. After I was discharged when I got home, the bloating got worst and it got hard to stand up straight. Dear Hubby took good care of me, getting me food and making sure I’m comfortable. I love that guy… I’m such a lucky girl.

BREAKING NEWS…

Just as I was writing this, I got a call from the hospital. The nice nurse called to see how I was doing, if I was eating well. I asked if they knew how my embryos were doing and they passed me to the embryologists. They told me that we had 9 retrieved yesterday and all 9 were mature. 8 fertilised and 1 didn’t make it. They say we won’t know what will happen tomorrow but right this moment they are doing great. I’m so happy… Praying all my babies are growing well and dividing. Wish us luck.  Hoping more good news for the days to come.

Arm loads of baby dust to everyone who needs some. XOXO…

